Life is SHY & Money is BOLD

This week our professor asked us to take a look at the email campaign we have received in our email boxes and analyzed each one through several metrics. I didn’t think it’s a fun job but to my surprise, I did find something interesting. I finally reached a point that for lifestyle business,  soon you will know why:

#1 Fancy (a social photo sharing website and mobile app @ http://fancy.com

Campaign Name – “Fancy: Best of the Weekly”

Frequency – Once a day

Type of Email – Increase customer stickness

FANCY 1 FANCY 2

This email is just…fine. It promotes interesting pictures with neat display. But it’s a little bit too long to read. Since Fnacy sent me it everyday, I just get used to ignore it everyday… 

Intended Audience – All Fancy subscribers

From Address: whatsup@fancy.com

From Display Name – “Best of the Week! Fancy’s top picks for you.”

Call To Action – “INVITE YOUR FRIENDS TO FANCY & EARN POINTS”

Email Service Provider (ESP) – “Madmimi.com”

#2 New Museum (@http://www.newmuseum.org)

Campaign Name – “HALLOWEEN GIF SERIES: TWO OF FOUR

Frequency – Once a year?

Type of Email – Increase customer engagement

new museum

Intended Audience – All New Museum subscribers

From Address: membership@newmuseum.org

From Display Name – “HALLOWEEN GIF SERIES: TWO OF FOUR

Call To Action – “JOIN NOW”

Email Service Provider (ESP) – “mail50.atl31.mcdlv.ne”

I’d say…this email is rather too pale. I know museums are always about white wall, white ceiling and even white floor. But this one for me is just too simplified. If I need to invest a considerable amount of time & money to join a Halloween Party, I hope to get more information to make the decision. Or, at least give me a reason — why I have to dump other Halloween party invitations in New York to attend this one?

But of course, if it’s a party about what the following picture shows, I would DEFINITELY go!!

whatdoesthefoxsaay

What do you say? :p

#3 E.L.F. (a economic makeup & cosmetics company @ http://www.eyeslipsface.com)

Campaign Name – “Last Chance!

Frequency – multiple times per year

Type of Email – Increase store traffic and sales

 ELF

Intended Audience – All E.L.F. Subscribers

From Address: eyeslipsface@members.eyeslipsface.com

From Display Name – “Last Chance!

Call To Action – “Last chance! Define your look with our best selling 144 Piece Ultimate Eyeshadow Palette for ONLY $7.5” “Last Chances!” “Save 50%” etc.

This is what I’m talking about…! This is an email calling for action! Now I guess most of you understand why I said “life is shy & money is bold!” Since Fancy wants to promote its stylished online goods and New Museum wants to keep the sense of being arty, both of them cannot be too pushy for their content. They have to leave some room to build up their brand and style. But the same time, the subscribers may not feel compelled to follow the promotion. For E.L.F., its goal is so clear — sales! It’s not surprising that its email is the most aggressive one through three of them! But to be honest, I like the last one most because it ignited my desire…for SHOPPING! 

dontletthedesirepassby

See, even Mets knows the importance of igniting people’s desire!

Leave a Reply

